Executive Office of the Mayor
Menu Button

Mayor Bowser Congratulates Three District Schools Recognized as 2021 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Tuesday, September 21, 2021

(Washington, DC) – Today, Mayor Muriel Bowser announced that three schools in the District of Columbia were recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2021 by the U.S. Department of Education: BASIS DC Public Charter School, Eaton Elementary School, and Lafayette Elementary School. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“We know that when we commit to investing in our schools and providing a world-class education for our students, we can change lives and give more of our youngest residents a fair shot. As students citywide have returned to the classroom for in-person learning, we have been reminded yet again how much our schools mean to students and families. These three schools represent the ongoing commitment of DC residents to ensure our public schools have the best educators in nation, lessons that challenge our young people, and school communities that support the social, emotional, and academic needs of our children,” said Mayor Bowser. “We are honored by this national recognition for three outstanding schools and the students and educators who are making DC proud every day.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program is in its 39th year and has recognized more than 9,000 schools.