Executive Office of the Mayor
Menu Button

DC Facilities and Commemorative Expressions (DCFACES) Working Group

Mayor Bowser charged the District of Columbia Facilities and Commemorative Expressions (DCFACES) Working Group with evaluating named DC Government-owned facilities and make recommendations as to what, if any, actions need to be taken if the person the facility is named for is inconsistent with DC values and in some way encouraged the oppression of African Americans and other communities of color or contributed to our long history of systemic racism.

Facilities Focus Areas

  • DC Government-owned streets
  • DC Government-owned buildings (libraries, schools, rec centers, etc)
  • DC Government-owned parks
  • Statues in DC Government-owned parks
  • Other named public spaces

We Want To Hear From You

The DCFACES Working Group wants to hear from you. Please take a moment to complete this survey and let us know of any District assets to the group should consider.

Contact Us

For more information, please contact [email protected]

DCFACES Working Group

        Beverly Perry                         Richard Reyes-Gavilan
Senior Advisor                              Director DCPL
Malaika Abernathy Scriven                   Keith Anderson                     Kimberly Bassett
       Chief of Staff - OP                            Director – DGS                      Secretary of State
 Ashley Emerson                                   Lewis Ferebee                              Delano Hunter
        Director – MOAAA                               Chancellor – DCPS                       Director – DPR
                          Maryann Lombardi                                Jeffrey Marootian
        Associate Director – DC Creative Affairs Office          Director - DDOT
DCFaces Working Group Operations
Steven Walker
Andre Eken
DCFaces Working Group Committees
Research Committee
Associate Director - David Maloney
Coordinator - Lauren Carpenter
Declan Kingland      Derek Gray      Nick Kushner
Policy Committee
Associate Director - Gianelle Rivera
Associate Director - Ronan Gulstone
Coordinator - Lanesha Kearse
Chris Shaheen       Angela Scott       Garrett Lee      Shanita Burney
Engagement Committee
Associate Director - David Jones
Coordinator –Thierry Tchenko
Faith Broderick      Sarah Parker      Tiwana Hicks      Hazle Crawford